Abu Dhabi Grand Prix: Untouchable Hamilton takes lights-to-flag win

Lewis Hamilton finished off his sixth championship winning season in style by dominating proceeding in the desert, taking pole, fastest lap and the win, and leading every single lap.

At the start, Charles Leclerc, who was at that point under investigation for a fuel irregularity, managed to get ahead of Verstappen, whilst at the back, Gasly and the two Racing Points collided, leaving Gasly without a front wing and Stroll with damage that would eventually see him retire. Whilst Perez had a lucky escape.

The main interest in the early laps was Valtteri Bottas’s progress, which was made tricky by a technical failure with the DRS. However he eventually got to sixth and his pace improved. He eventually passed Albon, and didn’t have to pass Vettel as he pitted when he caught up.

Before that, Charles Leclerc was still holding second but Max Verstappen was catching despite an engine issue. He caught and made a bold pass on the Ferrari.

Fearful of a challenge from Bottas being hard to resist due to old tyres, he opted to make a second stop. That worked as he held off the Mercedes to the flag.

Whilst Lewis Hamilton was unchallenged all race up front. He drove a picture perfect race from pole, winning whilst setting fastest lap on the way and not losing the lead once. It was one of his most dominant drives.

Max Verstappen finished in second ahead of Charles Leclerc, who kept his podium after his fuel was investigated. Valtteri Bottas finished in fourth ahead of Sebastian Vettel, who passed Alex Albon in the closing stages.

Whilst in the midfield, there was a lot of action. Sergio Perez made use of his free choice of tyres and was charging in the closing laps, passing car after car. He made light work of Lando Norris for seventh on the final lap with a fantastic move round the outside of Turn 11.

Behind, there was more movement. Daniil Kvyat made a late pitstop and managed to work his way up to ninth ahead of the Renaults. At the same corner as Perez, he made a sublime move down the inside of Nico Hulkenberg to take the final point, before Daniel Ricciardo also passed his teammate as well.

Here is the race classification for the final grand prix of 2019.

  1. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
  2. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
  3. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
  4. Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes)
  5. Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari)
  6. Alexander Albon (Red Bull)
  7. Sergio Perez (Racing Point)
  8. Lando Norris (McLaren)
  9. Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso)
  10. Carlos Sainz (McLaren)
  11. Daniel Ricciardo (Renault)
  12. Nico Hulkenberg (Renault)
  13. Kimi Raikkonen (Alfa Romeo)
  14. Kevin Magnussen (Haas)
  15. Romain Grosjean (Haas)
  16. Antonio Giovinazzi (Alfa Romeo)
  17. George Russell (Williams)
  18. Pierre Gasly (Toro Rosso)
  19. Robert Kubica (Williams)

R. Lance Stroll (Racing Point)

In the drivers standings, the top 3 stay as they are, whilst Carlos Sainz’s extra point is enough to secure him sixth in the standings. Whilst Renault just hold off Toro Rosso for fifth in the standings.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s